

Making Great Communities Happen

February 27, 2017

Mr. Rod Arroyo, AICP Giffels Webster 28 W Adams, Suite 1200 Detriot, MI 48226 rarroyo@GiffelsWebster.com

Dear Mr. Arroyo,

On behalf of the Small Town and Rural Planning (STaR) Division Awards Committee, we are pleased to inform you that your submittal of the *Clawson Downtown Master Plan* was selected as a recipient of the 2017 Vernon Deines Honor Award for an Outstanding Small Town Special Project Plan. The Awards Committee was incredibly impressed with this plan, and feel it embodies the best of small town planning. The breadth of community outreach techniques, particularly the awareness walks and built-form studies, as well as the overall support for the plan provides a model for communities of all sizes. The Committee was impressed with the community's desire to see revitalize downtown with specific focus on trackable and straightforward action strategies. The plan is well laid-out and the images help make the plan user-friendly. We congratulate you on your successful project!

Please join us for the Awards Reception and STaR Business Meeting on Sunday, May 7th from11:45a.m. - 12:45p.m during this year's National Planning Conference in New York City. The reception will take place at the Javits Conference Center and will honor all award recipients. As an award recipient, the City of Clawson will receive an award plaque, will be highlighted at the ceremony and in a future STaR newsletter article. In addition, we would like to highlight all the award winning plans in a future webinar – please contact Bill Lavers, VC of Conferences and Programs, for more information on this opportunity.

Please consider joining us for the entire conference (https://conference.planning.org/conference/). Nominal reimbursement of travel costs is available for attendees from the City of Clawson. In addition, one member of the project team will receive a one-year membership in the STaR Division. Please contact us if you would like to take advantage of this travel assistance or the complimentary STaR membership. Additional copies of the award may be ordered for support staff and consultants at a nominal cost. Congratulations on your Award Winning Project!

Sincerely,

Jessica Garrow, AICP STaR Chair

Division Chair
Jessica Garrow, AICP
Community Dev. Director
City of Aspen
130 South Galena Street
Aspen, CO 81611
(970) 429-2780
Jessica.garrow@cityofasp
en.com

Immediate Past Chair Chad Nabity, AICP Planning Director Hall County RPC PO Box 1968 Grand Island, NE 68802 (308) 385-5240 cnabity@grand-island.com Vice Chair-Communications
John C Shepard, AICP
Planning Manager
Archuleta County
PO Box 1507
Pagosa Spings, CO 81147
(970) 264-1390
jcshepard.aicp@gmail.com

Vice Chair-Programs
Bill Lavers
Executive Director
Development Corporation of
Snyder
325-573-1544 office
323-207-7298 mobile
laversbill@gmail.com

STaR Vice-Chair – Conferences and Programs

1 X1

Bill Lavers, AICP

Secretary-Treasurer Mary T. Howard, AICP 58 Nevis Rd Tivoli, NY 12583 (518) 929-5866 Mthdwh8000@yahoo.com