Board of Directors & Executive Director

Get to know the Board


The DDA is governed by a 9-12 member board of directors and is chaired by Mary Liz Curtin. A majority of the members must be persons having an interest in property located in the downtown district. Boardmembers serve staggered four year terms, and is currently made up of the following members:

Mary Liz Curtin; Chair, downtown business owner – Leon & Lulu and Three Cats
Sam Gill, downtown business owner – The Yarn Stop
Valerie Glander; Treasurer, Clawson resident
Bill Kelly; Vice-Chair; Clawson resident and Clawson business owner
Reese Scripture; Clawson Mayor
Rafal Mahmood; downtown business owner – S&H Investments
Scott Raymaker; downtown business owner – r. collective salon
Sara Riza; downtown business owner – Clawson Grill
Christine Ryan; downtown business owner – Ryan Cabinetry
David Bowlin; Clawson resident


Joan Horton is the Executive Director of the DDA wih an office in City Hall. In-office hours are maintained on a flexible basis as the director is often downtown visiting businesses. Drop ins are welcome but a call to the mobile is suggested.

Joan can be reached at:
425 N. Main
Clawson MI  48017
office 248-435-5299
mobile 248-219-4022